Academic Standard: Grade Level or Course

United States Government and Civics
Tennessee State Standards
Social Studies (2014-2019)
Grade Level or Course — Course
Grade range: 
9 to 12
Educational Division = Secondary Education

<p><strong>Content Strands:</strong> Many academic standards for social studies courses are categorized into <em>content strands</em> as indicated by letter codes. (C=Culture, E=Economics, G=Geography, H=History, P=Politics/Government, TN=Tennessee)</p>

Students will study the purposes, principles, and practices of American government as established by the Constitution. Students are expected to understand their rights and responsibilities as citizens and how to exercise these rights and responsibilities in local, state, and national government. Students will learn the structure and processes of the government of the state of Tennessee and various local governments. The reading of primary source documents is a key feature of United States Government and Civics standards.
Elements within this Grade Level or Course
Principles of United States Government
Branches of Government
The Supreme Court and the Constitution
Federal Power
Elections and the Political Process
Influence of Media
Rights and Responsibilities of Citizens
Fundamentals of a Free Society
Civil Rights
Federal Government and the Economy
Tennessee State and Local Government